Melissa Neeley is a Duke Sustainability Leader

2016 Sustain Duke Award Winners

Sustainable Duke seeks to provide leadership in environmental stewardship and sustainability on campus, medical institutions, and within in the larger North Carolina community. Each spring Sustainable Duke awards members of the Duke community who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the three pillars of sustainability: environmental stewardship, social justice, and economic viability.

This year the Franklin Center’s own Melissa Neeley was honored with the Outstanding Leadership in Sustainability award. Neeley’s efforts promote green actions in the Franklin Center. In the past year, Neeley coordinated Free Store events, advocated for the installation of water bottle refilling stations, and spearheaded recycling initiatives at the Franklin Center. Her leadership continues to provide an excellent example of conservation to her colleagues and the greater Duke and Durham communities.


Sustainable Duke recognized:

Outstanding Leadership in Sustainability – Faculty

Daniel Ahlquist, lecturing fellow, Thompson Writing Program

Outstanding Leadership in Sustainability – Staff

Melissa Neeley, operations support staff member, John Hope Franklin Center

Boyd Pickard and David Grizzle, control technicians, Energy Management Controls Shop

Outstanding Leadership in Sustainability – Student

Kelly Shen, senior

Outstanding Leadership in Waste Reduction

Sarah P. Duke Gardens Green Team

John Lohnes, physician assistant, Duke Orthopaedics

Zero Waste Game Day Recognition

Members of Duke Athletics and Duke football were also recognized at the event for their part in helping Duke become the first ACC school to achieve a zero waste gameday.



Nothing Found

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria