Latin American Politics

The Travails of Democracy in Latin America

latin american politics working group Coordinated by
Prof. Evelyne Huber (Political Science, UNC, ehuber@unc.edu)
Prof. Cecilia Martínez Gallardo (Political Science, UNC, cmg@email.unc.edu)
Prof. Jonathan Hartlyn (Political Science, UNC, hartlyn@unc.edu)
Prof. Santiago Olivella, (Political Science, UNC-Chapel Hill, olivella@unc.edu)
Prof. Erik Wibbels (Political Science, Duke, ew41@duke.edu)
Prof. Karen Remmer (Political Science, Duke, karen.remmer@duke.edu)
Prof. Herbert Kitschelt (Political Science, Duke, h3738@duke.edu)
Prof. Pablo Beramendi (Political Science, Duke, pablo.beramendi@duke.edu 

Ashley Reaves (UNC-CH, areaves@unc.edu)
Diego Romero (Duke, diego.romero@duke.edu)
Simon Hoellerbauer (UNC-CH, hoellers@unc.edu)

The theme for this year’s Latin American Politics working group is “The Travails of Democracy in Latin America.” Given the largely region-wide democratic transition and the subsequent efforts to improve the quality and stability of democracy, with varying success both across and within countries, much of the current literature on Latin America is focused on remaining and emerging challenges to democratic consolidation. In this vein, the working group will engage current research on the related topics of social policy, inequality (political, social, and economic), political institutions, crime, corruption, clientelism, and political legitimacy in Latin America. Student presentations and workshops/conferences will be organized around particular sub-themes that address a number of these issues. Participating faculty and graduate students are currently engaged in research directly related to the above-mentioned topics and would therefore benefit greatly from collective discussion, constructive critiques, and the opportunity to better situate their individual research projects in the context of the bigger picture.

 

Copyright 2019 | The Consortium in Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University