Latin American Politics

Obstacles of Democratic Consolidation in Latin America

image of south & central america with country flags

Coordinated by
Prof. Pablo Beramendi (Political Science, Duke, pablo.beramendi@duke.edu)
Prof. Jonathan Hartlyn (Political Science, UNC, hartlyn@unc.edu)
Prof. Evelyne Huber (Political Science, UNC, ehuber@unc.edu)
Prof. Herbert Kitschelt (Political Science, Duke, h3738@duke.edu
Prof. Cecilia Martínez Gallardo (Political Science, UNC, cmg@email.unc.edu)
Prof. Santiago Olivella, (Political Science, UNC-Chapel Hill, olivella@unc.edu)
Prof. Karen Remmer (Political Science, Duke, karen.remmer@duke.edu)
Prof. Livia Schubiger (Political Science, Duke, livia.schubiger@duke.edu)
Prof. Erik Wibbels (Political Science, Duke, ew41@duke.edu)
Isaac Mehlhaff (UNC-CH, Political Science)
Nicolás de la Cerda (UNC-CH, Political Science)
Mateo Villamizar
(Duke, Political Science)

The theme for this year’s Latin American Politics working group is “Obstacles of Democratic Consolidation in Latin America.” Given the largely region-wide democratic transition and the subsequent efforts to improve the quality and stability of democracy, with varying success both across and within countries, much of the current literature on Latin America is focused on remaining and emerging challenges to democratic consolidation. In this vein, the working group will engage current research on the related topics of social policy, inequality (political, social, and economic), political institutions, crime, corruption, clientelism, and political legitimacy in Latin America. Student presentations and workshops/conferences will be organized around particular sub-themes that address a number of these issues. Participating faculty and graduate students are currently engaged in research directly related to the above-mentioned topics and would therefore benefit greatly from collective discussion, constructive critiques, and the opportunity to better situate their individual research projects in the context of the bigger picture.  The group will also host guest speakers whose work focuses on these themes.

Copyright 2020 | The Consortium in Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University